Jul 27, 2023

New GeP2N4 Research Results

Two high impact articles on the first nitrido phosphate GeP2N4 appeared from the work of summer student Cody Somers.

Nov 30, 2022

REIXS beamline tour

Hear about the Resonant Elastic and Inelastic X-ray Scattering (REIXS) beamline from Teak Boyko, Scientist and Beamline Responsible.

Feb 7, 2022

Alan Pratt award

Prof. Moewes receives the 2020 Allen Pratt Memorial Award for Community Service by CLS.

Feb 7, 2022

Interview on Gerhard Herzberg receiving the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1971

Prof. Moewes gave an interview on the occasion of the 50 year anniversary of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for Dr. Gerhard Herzberg. Dr. Herzberg was a faculty member in the U of S Physics dept. (1935-1945) and he was widely considered the world’s foremost molecular spectroscopist when he won the Nobel Prize in chemistry in 1971.

Jul 22, 2015

Dr. Mark Boots receives Alumni Achievement Award

The Alumni Achievement Awards recognize graduates of the University of Saskatchewan for excellence, leadership, and innovation in their achievements and in their contributions to the social, cultural, and economic well-being of society.

Dec 17, 2014

OriginLab Features Dr. Robert Green

“Origin has a large amount of features which allow you to display data in a very professional way. I have used Origin to create graphs and other figures for every one of my scientific publications."

Nov 18, 2014

Beamteam Dream Team

A new feature by the University of Saskatchewan on our recent graduates.

Aug 5, 2014

Graphene on the Cusp

Adrian Hunt's PhD research on graphene oxide is featured by the CLS, Phys.org, and other news outlets.

Jul 10, 2013

Beamteam featured in "International Innovation"

By employing advanced synchrotron radiation techniques, the Beamteam at the University of Saskatchewan, Canada is studying the characteristics of new and complex materials that will be necessary to further develop them for novel applications in a wide range of fields.

Dec 19, 2012

Israel Perez wins International Contest

Dr. Israel Perez, member of the beamteam, was awarded a fourth prize for his essay entitled: "The Preferred System of Reference Reloaded" in a FQXi contest.

Apr 11, 2012

Johnson takes NSERC PGS-D

Neil Johnson has been awarded a prestigious NSERC PGS-D scholarship, tenable from September 2012 until September 2015.

Jun 15, 2011

Green wins CLS Poster Competition

Robert Green was one of three winners of the Student Poster Competition at the 2011 Annual Users' Meeting at the Canadian Light Source in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

Nov 17, 2010

McLeod and Hunt awarded NSERC CGS-Ds

John McLeod and Adrian Hunt have had their NSERC scholarships upgraded from PGSD3s to CGSD3s. CGSD scholarships are prestigious national awards, providing $35,000 per year in funding.

Oct 10, 2010

Green wins Berkeley Poster Competition

Robert Green was the winner of the Student Poster Competition at the 2010 Annual Users' Meeting at the Advanced Light Source in Berkeley, California.

Apr 10, 2010

Beamteam Students Get Big Scholarships

Four PhD physics students from the University of Saskatchewan "Beamteam" research group have won federal government scholarships valued at about $250,000, the university announced Friday.

Jul 18, 2007

Beamteam featured in "Making Waves"

The Beamteam research group was featured in the University of Saskatchewan's research publication, Making Waves: A Landscape of Discovery, Creativity, and Innovation:

Jun 6, 2007

Muir awarded best student presentation at CAP

David Muir was awarded the prize for best student presentation at the 2007 Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) meeting for the Division of Instrumentation and Measurement Physics (DIMP). David also received an honourable mention in the competition between all CAP divisions.

Mar 8, 2007

Wilks recipient of two prestigious awards

Regan Wilks has been awarded an NSERC PGS-D scholarship, and has also been selected to participate in the NSERC's Summer Program in Taiwan. Regan will be working with Dr. W.F. Pong at Tamkang University in Danshui, Taiwan and performing measurements at the National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center (NSRRC) in Hsinchu. The program runs from June to August, 2007.